ROX Radio


Monday, March 7, 2022

Incoming! Muddy Moonshine


Muddy Moonshine was founded in summer 2014. Original idea for this project was to have a small three person blues band (Jonne Rytkönen, Tero & Jarmo Ikala), to perform few pub shows. Moonshiners quickly developed own material and they needed to add some man power, so Saku Manninen joined to play drums and Jaakko Ruusulampi on bass guitar. 3rd guitarist slot was for Niko Turunen. This lineup  recorded the bands first EP “ Distilled in Finland” in Porvoo Magnusborg studios 2015.


Muddy Moonshine continued to make their own music and played shows in good pace. Jaakko decided to left the group and was replaced by Kim Sandström. Niko was replaced by Stefan Granroth. Just before Moonshiners were about to start recording their debut album, Tero’s health issues started and he was replaced by Aleksi Ahokas.


Debut album Muddy & Wild” 2016 was recorded in Porvoo Magnusborg studios and was published via Inverse Records affiliated company Secret Entertainment worldwide.


Due to musical differencies Aleksi left the group to follow his own path in music and Muddy got an experienced former frontman of: Iconofear, Doperman, Hedonist & Zombie Rodeo Thomas Vee in vocals. Transition was easy and natural, since our paths had crossed before and there had been talks about collaboration before.

Moonshiners made more material and gig pace was good. It was almost time to enter the studio and publish their second album. Stefan decided to focus on family. Muddy Moonshine didn’t recruit anyone to replace him. 2 track single “Charm of Drinking Hard” was released in september 2021.

Sencond single “Crystal Riders” leads this path for the forthcoming album “Are We There Yet?” which will be released on March 18th 2022 via Secret Entertainment.

Pre-order Are We There Yet? CD from HERE 

Track list:

1. Under the Moon
2. Crystal Riders
3. Sold Out
4. Corn Whiskey a Go
5. Charm of Drinking Hard
6. Distilled in Bayou
7. Why Why Why
8. In a Dream, In a Song, On a Movie
9. Keep on Riding
10. Into the Night
11. Son of a Gun
12. One More Time
13. Me & You

Tuomo Varjola - vocals
Jonne Rytkönen - guitars
Saku Manninen - drums
Jarmo Ikala - guitars
Kim Sandström - bass



No comments:

Post a Comment

Hi and thanks for your input!


Got the time: the importance of rhythm and time in music

Understanding Time Signatures in Music The Importance of Proper Timing Proper timing is crucial in music as it forms the framework that musi...