ROX Radio


Friday, September 9, 2022

Incoming! I Am

Texan death-thrashers I AM stream new single / video on album release day

'The Primal Wave' video streaming now

Eternal Steel out now via MNRK Heavy
[photo by Kevyn Reece]

Texas thrash-death unit I AM have unleashed their bruising new single 'The Primal Wave', the third track taken from their Eternal Steel full-length, out today via MNRK Heavy.

Watch the video to 'The Primal Wave' here:

Brandishing a unique fusion of ferocious thrash and death metal like a weapon of mass destruction, I AM are purely no-nonsense in their patented “Texas Death” assault. Armed with riffs, speed, and overwhelming power, the band channels discontent and anger into empowering anthems, as likely to inspire a grueling workout as to incite the pit.  

Tracks like 'Iron Gate,' 'Infernal Panther,' 'Queen Incarnate,' and Eternal Steel’s title track are demonstrative of the diverse extremes on offer as menacing moods, blistering thrash, and crushing death collide all over the record. The lyrics harness the power of dark subject matter in ways that serve and inspire the listener. “The topic of ‘fear’ is addressed in [latest single] ‘The Primal Wave,’” notes vocalist Andrew Hileman, “but in a way where that fear is used to fuel you to overcome obstacles.”

Hileman further elaborates of the track, "If I could describe this song into a few words I’d use Hileman 'furious power.' It’s very unrelenting and in your face the whole time leaving an uneasy feeling. Getting with Kevyn [Reece] to make this video happen brought our vision of filth to life."

Watch previous videos:
'Surrender To The Blade':
'The Iron Gate':

Recorded, mixed, and mastered by Randy Leboeuf (Kublai Khan, Sentinels, The Acacia Strain)Eternal Steel, the quintet’s debut for MNRK Heavy, combines the onslaught of the band’s well-received Hard 2 Kill (2018) with the primal bite of Life Through Torment (2017) into a singular statement of intent.

Pre-order Eternal Steel on CD, cassette and vinyl here:

I AM - The Primal Wave

I AM have earned a reputation for devastation in the live environment, converting doubters and curious onlookers alike into diehard believers with sweat and determination. And across the two most recent records, they established themselves as a band who never writes the same song twice.
“You won’t mistake one track for another,” Reyes assures. “Not in a way that sounds scattered or disorganized. It’s just that we have a range within our sound. We exercise free rein creatively.”
The death n’ roll groove of Obituary, the street-smart violence of Cro-Mags, it all coalesces into something fresh, exciting, and distinctly I AM. Hearkening to the past of classic metal with a hard shove forward into the future, these guys transcend genre limitations with a sound built to last.
“The band’s music is an angry headbanger’s dream.” – Kerrang!

I AM reigns supreme.” – New Transcendence 
I AM are:
Andrew Hileman – vocals
Tom Reyes – guitar
Chris Burgess – guitar
Erik Rodriguez – bass 
Brandon Busa – drums
For more information:
About MNRK Music Group: 

MNRK Music Group is one of the largest independent music companies in the world, with recording, music publishing, and management divisions operating in every major music market. MNRK is committed to discovering and guiding top music creators and artists and works with some of the greatest musical talent including The Lumineers and Pitbull, the music publishing catalog of Chuck Berry, plus premier music companies Dualtone Music Group and Last Gang. The company’s music department services Academy Award and Emmy Award-winning producers. Its catalogue across divisions consists of 54,000 music tracks, including multiple GRAMMY winners and platinum-selling hits. To learn more visit

Eternal Steel track-listing:

1. The Primal Wave
2. Surrender To The Blade
3. The Iron Gate
4. Eternal Steel
5. Vicious Instinct
6. Infernal Panther
7. Queen Incarnate
8. Heaven On Earth
9. Price Of Pain
10. Eye Candy
11. Manic Cure

No comments:

Post a Comment

Hi and thanks for your input!


Mushroomhead album number 9

Following the breakout success of their eighth studio album and  Napalm Records  debut, 2020’s  A Wonderful Life , US masked metal masters  ...